Association for Glycogen Storage Disease

Association for
Glycogen Storage Disease

"Spreading our rays to shine for a brighter future"
Donate

AGSD Scientific Advisory Board

The Scientific Advisory Board of the AGSD is a group of medical professionals representing physicians and nutritionists who care for patients having Glycogen Storage Diseases, and scientists actively engaged in research pertaining to the genetics or the metabolic disruptions associated with Glycogen Storage Diseases. These professionals have graciously volunteered to share their expertise and knowledge of the Glycogen Storage Diseases with the AGSD.

The current members of the Scientific Advisory Board are:

Claudia Soler-Alfonso, MD
Department of Molecular and Human Genetics
Baylor College of Medicine
Texas Children's Hospital
6701 Fannin St. Suite 1560
Houston, TX 77030
Phone: 832-822-4183
soler@bcm.edu

Stephanie L. Austin, MS, MA
Certified Genetic Counselor
Division of Medical Genetics
Department of Pediatrics
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
stephanie.austin@duke.edu

Bert E. Bachrach, MD – Co-Chairperson
Vice Chief of Staff, University of Missouri Hospitals and Clinics
Medical Director, Adolescent and Specialty Clinics
Chief of Pediatric Endocrinology/Diabetes
University of Missouri Children's Hospital
Columbia, MO
bachrachb@health.missouri.edu

Deeksha S. Bali, PhD
Director, Glycogen Storage Disease Laboratory
Biochemical Genetics Laboratory
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
deeksha.bali@duke.edu

Salvatore DiMauro, MD
Lucy G. Moses Professor of Neurology
The Neurological Institute of New York
Department of Neurology
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, NY
sd12@columbia.edu

Areeg El-Gharbawy, MD, DSc
Medical Genetics, Department of Pediatrics
Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
areeg.elgharbawy@chp.edu

Ronald G. Haller, MD
Professor of Neurology and Internal Medicine
Mary Quincy Parsons and Kelsey Louise Wright Professor
in Mitochondrial Disease Research
University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center at Dallas
Director, Neuromuscular Center
Institute for Exercise and Environmental Medicine
Dallas, TX
Ronald.Haller@UTSouthwestern.edu

Stephen G. Kahler, MD
Professor, Department of Pediatrics
Division of Clinical Genetics
University of Arkansas College of Medicine
Arkansas Children's Hospital
Little Rock, Arkansas
KahlerStepheng@uams.edu

Priya S. Kishnani, MD, Co-Chairman
C.L. and Sue Chen Professor of Pediatrics
Division Chief, Medical Genetics
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC
priya.kishnani@duke.edu

Teresa M. Lee, MD
Division of Pediatric Cardiology
Department of Pediatrics
Columbia University Medical Center
New York, NY
tl2164@columbia.edu

Stacey L Reason RN MScN EdD
President, International Association for Muscle Glycogen Storage Disease
1010 Park Lane
Dwight, ON P0A 1H0
Canada
stacey.reason@iamgsd.org

Laurie Minarich, MD
Laurie.minarich@gmail.com

Krista Viau, PhD, RD, CSP
Boston Children's Hospital
Fegan 4 – Metabolism Clinic
300 Longwood Ave.
Boston, MA 02115
Krista.Viau@childrens.harvard.edu